When you initiate a screen share for your Apple device, anyone in the current FaceTime call will be able to view whatever you do on your iPhone — except see paid content as previously mentioned. You can open apps, launch your camera roll, or go through step-by-step navigation of any website, app, or even your iPhone’s own settings. Others in the call will not be able to execute any actions on your device. They also will not be able to see any incoming notifications you receive while screen sharing is active.
While screen-sharing is turned on, a screen-share icon will be visible in the top-left corner of the iPhone screen, which you can always tap to gain access to FaceTime controls. You can also hide any caller whose face is taking up space onscreen and bring them back into view when desired.
FaceTime only allows one screen-share to be active at one time. If you are currently sharing yours, others in the call can show theirs when you stop sharing, which you can easily do by tapping the “Share Content” button again at the top of the FaceTime call. They can also essentially take over screen-sharing duties by doing the following:
- Hit the Share Content button.
- Select “Share My Screen.”
- A “Replace Screen Sharing” pop-up will show up. Hit “Replace Existing.”
Once they do these steps, your screen will disappear from view and will be replaced by theirs.